Live Score


Tuesday, April 12, 2011

Incredible record of 15 sixes…


Yesterday when Bangladesh entered the Mirpur ground to play 2nd ODI against Australia, they didn’t dreamt about the incredible World Record. Had they sensed that incredible record then certainly they wouldn’t have taken the field but as they say ‘cricket is game of glorious uncertainties’ and Monday 11th April, 2011 was the day when glorious records established by Aussie opener Shane Watson.

Shane Watson made an unbeatable century in Mirpur and smashed Bangladesh’s bowler. He hit a record 15 sixes and also hit 15 fours. He amazed the crowd with the tremendous hitting. He was in an amazing form from the word go as he started with the four on the first delivery. He made a total of 185 runs (not out) on 96 balls.He hit the boundaries on 30 balls that mean made 150 runs on just 30 balls and 35 runs on rest 65 balls. Watson relished the hot sub-continent conditions and turned the match Aussie way. 

MarshallWith this outclass performance he broke the record of West Indian player  Xavier Marshall(Jamaica), who hit 12 sixes against Canada in 2008. Total centuries made by Watson are now six. He made his century off 69 deliveries, which is third fastest century made by Australian player. Now Watson holds the incredible record of 15 sixes in an innings, most by any player in World Cricket.

More Sixes

The record for most sixes in a Test match innings is 12, which was achieved by Pakistani all-rounder Wasim Akram during an innings of 257 not out against Zimbabwe in October 1996 at Sheikhupura. The One Day International record for most sixes hit in an innings is held by Shane Watson who hit 15 sixes against Bangladesh in Dhaka in April 2011.

Adam Gilchrist currently holds the record for most sixes in a Test career (100 as of March 2009). Shahid Afridi holds the record for most sixes in an ODI career (272 of 296 matches as of June 2010).

The record for the most sixes in a Test match is 27, which occurred during a 2006 Test match between Pakistan and India at the Iqbal Stadium in Faisalabad. In their first innings, Pakistan hit eleven sixes. India hit nine in their first innings. Pakistan hit seven more sixes in their second innings.

The record for the most sixes in a One Day International is 31, which was achieved in a match between India and New Zealand at AMI Stadium in March 2009. India hit 18 sixes in their innings and New Zealand hit 13. The equivalent record in Twenty20 Internationals was set on the same ground and on the same tour, 24 sixes were hit during the Twenty20 International match between India and New Zealand on 25 February 2009.

Shahid Yuvi

6 Sixes in an over

On 31 August 1968, Garfield Sobers became the first man to hit six sixes off a single six-ball over in first-class cricket.The over was bowled by Malcolm Nash in Nottinghamshire's first innings against Glamorgan at St. Helen's in Swansea. Nash was a seam bowler but somewhat rashly, as it turned out, decided to try his arm at spin bowling. This achievement was caught on film.

The feat was repeated by Ravi Shastri in January 1985. Playing for Bombay against Baroda at the Wankhede Stadium in Bombay, Shastri hit left-arm spinner Tilak Raj for six sixes in a single over.

On 16 March 2007, in a match between South Africa and the Netherlands at the 2007 Cricket World Cup, Herschelle Gibbs became the first person to hit six sixes off an over in a One Day Internationalmatch. The over was bowled by Dutch leg-spinner Daan van Bunge.

On 19 September 2007, in a match between England and India, Indian cricketer Yuvraj Singh hit six sixes off a single six-ball over in a Twenty20 international cricket match during the inaugural ICC Twenty20 World Cup in Durban, South Africa. The bowler was Stuart Broad of England.

List of all-time leading ‘Six Hitters’ in ODIs


Career: From - To

Total Sixes

Shahid Afridi (Pakistan) 1996 - Present 274
Sanath Jayasuriya (Sri Lanka) 1989 - 2009 270
Sachin Tendulkar (India) 1989 - Present 193
Sourav Ganguly (India) 1992 - 2007 190
Chirs Gayle (West indies) 1999 - Present 168
Ricky Ponting (Australia) 1995 - Present 162
Chris Cairns (New Zealand) 1991 - 2006 153
Adam Gilchrist(Australia) 1996 - 2008 149
Inzamam Ul Haq (Pakistan) 1991 - 2007 144
Yuvraj Singh (India) 2000 - 2011 141

No comments:

Post a Comment